Skip Link
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Webinar

Pedestrian Connections: Planning for the Walkability Needs of Older Adults and People with Disabilities from Current Conditions to a Future Environment with Automated Vehicles

Pedestrian Connections: Planning for the Walkability Needs of Older Adults and People with Disabilities from Current Conditions to a Future Environment with Automated Vehicles

September 4, 2018
2:00-3:00 p.m. Eastern/1:00-2:00 p.m. Central/12:00 -1:00 p.m. Mountain/11:00 -12 noon Pacific

Registration for this webinar is closed. We’ll post a copy of the presentations and transcript soon. 

The National Aging and Disability Transportation Center (NADTC) will host a live, one-hour webinar on September 4 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern. Join us as we discuss the changing landscape of accessible pedestrian planning. From traditional local-level programs that encourage the involvement of older adults and people with disabilities in the walkability audit process to assessing the role of automated and connected vehicle technology related to accessible pedestrian movement.

Presenters from the Montana Disability and Health Program and the Rural Institute for Inclusive Communities at the University of Montana and the University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center will explore these topics. Attendees will learn about current and future considerations for maintaining safe, accessible walking environments and will have the opportunity to ask questions about how to apply these considerations to their own communities.

 

Presenters:

Meg Ann Traci, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
The Montana Disability and Health Program
The Rural Institute for Inclusive Communities
University of Montana

Laura Sandt, Ph.D.
Senior Research Associate, Highway Safety Research Center
Director, Collaborative Sciences Center for Road Safety
Director, Pedestrian and Bicycle Information Center
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Michael Clamann, Ph.D.
Senior Human Factors Engineer, Highway Safety Research Center
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

 

Details

Date:
September 4
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , , ,

Organizer

Rachel Beyerle